Anshadar is a partnership between Dave Newton, Todd King, and Mike Steen – a group of writers, game designers, and hekateks who have numerous game, fiction, and online works to their credit. In 2017, Todd and Dave decided to coauthor a story about universal armageddon with a twist, and we had so much fun wth it, we decided to form our own publishing company.

The Book is called The Lightbringer’s Sigil, and it’s the first in a series in what we call the EarthZero Evolution. In it, we examine several tropes in the science fiction/fantasy/horror genres, and present our readers with an irreverent romp through a cosmic game simulation. It was released in 2019, and joined last year by the second book in the series, The Anshadar Effect. Work is currently apace on the third book. The Death Horde.

Additionally, Anshadar will be publishing tabletop roleplaying games and game supplements, beginning with Quest! Roleplaying for Children. With Quest! we present an easy-to-learn system for teaching your young children how to learn roleplaying.

We have now added The SenZar Evolution to our stable of products. We’re starting the series off with an arc of three novels: The Seven Stars, The Roads to Madness, and The End of All Things

We plan to release a number of other works that have been languishing in our collective files, both fiction and game related. These are short stories, RPG modules, and how-to thoughts we’ve written and designed over the years for use with our own house games.


The Lightbringer’s Sigil

Book One of the EarthZero Evolution Series.
By Dave Newton and Todd King

The universe as we know it is a simulation. In fact, it’s one of thousands of simulations overseen by Helel, a Shaper in ZeroTime. Each of the previous simulations has failed – eradicated by the Death Horde, the destroyers of universes.

But of all the Shapers in ZeroTime, Helel has a plan to succeed in his 144,000th iteration. He is going to cheat by employing the Lightbringer’s Sigil and forcing humanity to evolve. The only problem is chaos, which may bring about Armageddon before the Horde even gets to Earth.



The Anshadar Effect

Book Two of the EarthZero Evolution Series.
By Dave Newton and Todd King

With the world recovering from the destruction caused by the Lightbringer’s Sigil, humanity reforms into clustered arcologies. The arrival of the Death Horde is on the horizon, and mankind must prepare for the ultimate enemy.

But their plans are interrupted by the ascension of a new EarthZero enemy: the dwellers in the City of Glass. Determined to wage war on the alliance of Dreamland, the Council of Glass is building an army to take Dreamland’s precious hekatek.

With the City of Glass preparing to march, will Dreamland have time to forge the weapons needed to fight the most puissant army in the universe?



Quest! – Roleplaying for Children

By Dave and Christi Newton

Children love roleplaying. But adult tabletop games are not designed with kids in mind. Quest! was built for kids between 4-10 years old, and helps them learn how to play while having fun and without resorting to violence against their opponents!

With a focus on fun, Quest! teaches young roleplayers the values of problem solving, cooperation, and the game mechanics of moving, counting, and rolling dice. This printable PDF game comes with both color and black and white versions, allowing your kids to customize the maps and characters, and even comes with printable counters for use with Shrinky-Dink™ paper!

Dave Newton and Todd King present:
In this first book of The SenZar Evolution, we witness the death and rebirth of the Seven Stars, the legendary heroes of SenZar who selflessly served the Cause. We witness their struggle to defeat an ancient evil from SenZar who now threatens the world of their second birth, Earth, while they wrestle with synergizing their old lives with their new ones. We witness the birth of new, immortal Anshadar to counter the menace of the Shadar, as the Dragon’s Game begins anew. And, ultimately, we shall witness the shockwaves that arise and resonate throughout the Metaverse when the heroes inflict their immortal wrath upon those who threaten their worlds.

Dave Newton and Todd King present:
In this second book of The SenZar Evolution, we witness the questing of the Seven Stars, the legendary heroes of SenZar, who cross the globe in search of the Krystallstaff, the Soulsword, Thrumble, Tark, and several other unique artifacts of theirs which survived their forced journey through the Dream Barrier from SenZar to Earth. They must regain all of their former power and abilities before they dare to confront Lord Valthrustra, who seeks to thwart them at every turn along their path. The Triad, three of Lord Valthrustra’s most powerful minions, unleash their own power to bring down the Stars. Through it all, Tatternorn struggles with the madness inflicted upon him due to his bond with Skurge, in their shared hell: The Pact of the Impossible Blade.

Dave Newton and Todd King present:
In this third book of The SenZar Evolution, we witness the Nemeses Wars, as the Seven Stars, now fully armed, face off against their Shadar Nemeses, who have also been reborn as new immortals to counter the cosmic balance of the newly reborn Anshadar. In league with the Triad, three of Lord Valthrustra’s most powerful minions, the Shadar battle the Seven Stars, who have, in place of the missing Sigil Talisman, the mysterious being called Fantus the Usurper to guide them. The Seven Stars must defeat their powerful foes in order to discover the location of Lord Valthrustra before he can merge with the Dragon itself and shape reality to his own dark will.

Have we got your attention?

Pop by our blog, where we will cover everything from writing to game design, present short stories, and keep you informed on what’s next for us. Tell us what you think. You can drop us a line so we can add you to our upcoming mailing list, and join our Patreon account (coming soon!) to help us keep the good stuff coming.